RUNNING TO RUNNYMEDE!


Running to Runnymede

LanghamPondRunnymede

There was hardly time to gather sorbet moments

Nor harness the power of life’s general circumstance

I had spent my whole life crisscrossing rail-tracks

Stumbled blind upon the important & the tall  

Like a cryptic tale, you cannot solve or censor

Where legions pause wan, to remember and sigh

The severed limbs, the loss of love, the spreading graves 

They build a bridge oft’ to carry humanities squalor

When great men’s minds meet to barter not surrender

Not fell the beauty, nor deceive the blindest emperor

In Paternoster’s palace  invention embraces charity

Where need, a relentless torrent, meets a steel-cold sea

The vicissitudes that chronicle history’s swollen journey

Barb and often unnecessary, ascend like the green-gas

Poison youthful memory, draw marks of doubt in the sky

O’ King John, now and many like you, writing in their sand

Wet with sweat their sand to glisten, their troth to listen

To turn their words to stone at least if not edged yet in gold

This, the refuge warm that I fast run to, renewed in vision

Bound with hope’s garlands, drenched in the dew of Eos

Laden with the three huge, golden apples of Hesperides

I thunder and snort, bay and cavort, I’m grizzled for sport

Owens n’ Bannister, Nijinski n’ Clay all devour their prey

Look up to see a lemon sun, streaming tails of a ringmaster

Where the assembly meet  to honour living souls not dying

And to the honest taste of Jacometti’s own graphite dread

The line, the pause, the brevity of space, encased in lead

And drawn from this, this detail, I see democracy’s mother

Lies replete, spread on a linen sheet, set in urban concrete

..

writtenbyedenbray01.09.2018

 

RUNNYMEDE

RUNNYMEDE - JFK

About edenbray

I am a writer ... a beat poet who began writing poetry way back in 1966 ... 'edenbray is born ugly, wet, covered in blood, mucous & bodily functions, the effluence of my short life' ... I recently published my 1st solo Anthology - the best of 60 years writing - previously I ran my own Art Supplies Store for 40 yrs before I became a full-time writer I am a Blogger who has posted 1,000 poems - available in 24 themed booklets ... please ask for details + leave a 'like' or a comment for my encouragement, thank you so much for listening - I truly value your opinion on my work ~ in fact I literally survive on your creative input ~ edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.