VENICE – THE CITY THAT WALKS ON WATER


Venezia

VENICE

.  .  .

When you first see Venice shimmering

in the sun, it is a city walking on water.

Your first inclination demands you weep 

and if heaven is a more endless sight

then only those with broken hearts may enter.

.. .

 The complexion of angels,

rose-strewn and blood-dried, the walls.

Arched bridges wanton, drape themselves

like artists models over the water streets

and as sirens, they draw your worn soul

.. .

I have waited on your tempered, wet streets

searched your bazaars cold, shaded grey.

I have climbed your steep, paved bridges

stood repentant in study of saintly churches.

Absolved, atoned, purged – in love’s blush.

completedbyedenbray16.07.20017

About edenbray

I am a writer ... a beat poet who began writing poetry way back in 1966 ... 'edenbray is born ugly, wet, covered in blood, mucous & bodily functions, the effluence of my short life' ... I recently published my 1st solo Anthology - the best of 60 years writing - previously I ran my own Art Supplies Store for 40 yrs before I became a full-time writer I am a Blogger who has posted 1,000 poems - available in 24 themed booklets ... please ask for details + leave a 'like' or a comment for my encouragement, thank you so much for listening - I truly value your opinion on my work ~ in fact I literally survive on your creative input ~ edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.