WILD HORSES


Wild Horses

..        

wild-horse-1280x640

And Engret, writing in the sand, wiping a tear from the corner of a bloodshot eye

With the sound of waves crashing, like his heart pounding, relentless and broken

The Arabian stallion, muzzled, silenced, tamed by the woman he always desired

A Russian tale, of prince’s, damsels, Duchess’s and Zsars, Snegurochka the snow maiden

Is she lost, forlorn, is she heartbroken or is she simply unfeeling, a young Scarlett O’Hara?

Why does the torn lover always desire what he cannot have? Juliet dying, mourn Romeo?

..

And the gates of thunder open wide on a windswept night in Bala, as lovers never knotted

Wrestle with their loss, Equus and Mammis thwarted, wild horses stalled are kept apart

Diana breathed on Phaedra who still yearns for her Hippolytus though calculated and cruel

Whom the Gods decide we love, not our choice, the task is only to unravel and requite

Separation purely squanders the trailed line that Engret wrote, not words of love in prose 

And so tonight fair maiden, sleep as though dust has grown between us, a dust that blows away

writtenbyedenbray29.07.2018

 

 

 

 

About edenbray

I am a writer ... a beat poet who began writing poetry way back in 1966 ... 'edenbray is born ugly, wet, covered in blood, mucous & bodily functions, the effluence of my short life' ... I recently published my 1st solo Anthology - the best of 60 years writing - previously I ran my own Art Supplies Store for 40 yrs before I became a full-time writer I am a Blogger who has posted 1,000 poems - available in 24 themed booklets ... please ask for details + leave a 'like' or a comment for my encouragement, thank you so much for listening - I truly value your opinion on my work ~ in fact I literally survive on your creative input ~ edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.