MY 4 CHILDREN !


   My Four Children

thor

.. ..

I wrote a play once for my 4 children

I gave them special names to match their characters

Sarallius, Debradella, Warrickolius, and Michelangelo

They were to be as Norsk Gods but more than Mythical Beings

Like Shakespearian characters in our true tale of life

Before many had even heard of Thor, son of Odin

Larger than life, my dear wife bore them to us both

and I loved them with the purest father’s heart

Did not possess or control them, even when my soul it ached

I tried to give them freedom, which is the foundation of all joy

Did not burden them with the sins of our fathers

Although I would have fought to the death against any

Who would disrespect or threaten them, diminish them in any way

You keep this hidden: the teeth of the protector, the wolf-parent

Like an Arkhala, Bagheera or Baloo – you want only the best for them 

I never finished that tale and soon they began to write their own

and before too long from the nest they all had flown

It always happens quicker than you want, your greatest, nagging fear 

I tried so valiantly, gallantly to say the things that they should hear

But somehow you never do it all, believing there will be time a’plenty

To say it later when that perfect moment comes that never does

And you’re always a little sad as you wrestle with what’s good and bad

I long for my children to be what I’m not, to have what I didn’t

And to be happy with nowt’, wrapped in that purest consolation ~

Nothing can take away the prayers a loving mother or a father prays

Those things, those matters, those tortured cries and tears stay on 

Written in the stone, carved in heavens clouds where they belong

And angels bear them to their maker and sing their own special song

It is a unique joy to know you have birthed children to this world

And for each the Loving Father has a unique ensign, bright, bold and unfurled

writtenbyedenbray10.04.2018

 

About edenbray

I am a writer ... a beat poet who began writing poetry way back in 1966 ... 'edenbray is born ugly, wet, covered in blood, mucous & bodily functions, the effluence of my short life' ... I recently published my 1st solo Anthology - the best of 60 years writing - previously I ran my own Art Supplies Store for 40 yrs before I became a full-time writer I am a Blogger who has posted 1,000 poems - available in 24 themed booklets ... please ask for details + leave a 'like' or a comment for my encouragement, thank you so much for listening - I truly value your opinion on my work ~ in fact I literally survive on your creative input ~ edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray memoirs, edenbray songs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.