IF TRUTH WERE TOLD


If Truth Were Told

the unnamed soldier

If truth were told

     Humankind would stand free

     Armies would surrender arms

          People freed would be

     Light released could filter

     Society’s ills should mend

     Our enemies might be friends

     And prison bars would open

If truth were told

     Children’s hearts gentle

     Men’s hearts fixed

     And women laugh with glee

          People freed would be

If truth were told

     A smile would be sincere

     A word, an embrace

     A kiss, a promise

If truth were told

          People freed would be

writtenbyedenbray28.10.89

#Note :  A poem I wrote nearly 30 years ago and published here for the 1st time. The object of this piece should be clear.  Straight talking honesty although candid and sometimes painful would have a dramatic effect on society and the world at large but ‘true-truth’* is a lot more than raw honesty. – It is pure, intrinsic, wholesome and quite honestly, pretty unimaginable but if practiced would indeed create a veritable heaven, right here on earth ~ **‘You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one’ ..

Bibliography .. .  Picture Plate – ‘The Unknown Soldier’ 1980 – Edenbray ~ *Francis Shaeffer ~ **John Lennon

About edenbray

I am a writer ... a beat poet who began writing poetry way back in 1966 ... 'edenbray is born ugly, wet, covered in blood, mucous & bodily functions, the effluence of my short life' ... I recently published my 1st solo Anthology - the best of 60 years writing - previously I ran my own Art Supplies Store for 40 yrs before I became a full-time writer I am a Blogger who has posted 1,000 poems - available in 24 themed booklets ... please ask for details + leave a 'like' or a comment for my encouragement, thank you so much for listening - I truly value your opinion on my work ~ in fact I literally survive on your creative input ~ edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.