WHEN THE DATE RAN OUT IN THE MORNING RAIN …


When The Date Ran Out In The Morning Rain …

..

Kipper

..

I can’t believe that the date ran out in the morning rain

The page had slipped, the sail had shipped, the needle skipped, the kipper flipped

and the date ran out in the mornin’ rain

..

I had kept that mothers’ details in a book I wrote

A diary book to save me hassle, with a thin gold ribbon and a bronzed tassel

but the date had run out in some morning rain

..

I’d forgotten the warning that comes with the package

Written in sans serif – it warned me ‘Don’t shoot that deputy or the sheriff’

but the date had run out in the morning rain

..

And I’ll never forget that awesome pain, the blame

Or the cold-hearted shame and the sound of the horn on that high-speed train

when the date ran out in the mornin’ rain

..

She’d never said hello and she never said goodbye

She didn’t bat an eyelid, flinch or sigh, never gave me a chance to bow my head or cry

when the date ran out in the Autumn rain

..

I looked to see if her mascara had run, if she’d lost her fun

If the birds had flown with the summer sun or if she’d found another one!

when my time had run out in the morning rain

..

It left a wound like an awkward stain, a sad refrain

And try as I may to rid that tattooed mark, it’s joined to me like a tree to it’s bark

when the date ran out in the morning rain

..

writtenbyedenbray03.07.2018

About edenbray

I am a writer ... a beat poet who began writing poetry way back in 1966 ... 'edenbray is born ugly, wet, covered in blood, mucous & bodily functions, the effluence of my short life' ... I recently published my 1st solo Anthology - the best of 60 years writing - previously I ran my own Art Supplies Store for 40 yrs before I became a full-time writer I am a Blogger who has posted 1,000 poems - available in 24 themed booklets ... please ask for details + leave a 'like' or a comment for my encouragement, thank you so much for listening - I truly value your opinion on my work ~ in fact I literally survive on your creative input ~ edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.