Letters of faith #1


Non non regrette rien …

crossroads-above1

How is it that all our apparent mistakes

Have made us what we are?

And if we are what we are, because of mistakes

Why should our children, who might wish to follow in our footsteps

Not want to make the same mistakes?                                         choices …

Mistakes in life are usually irreversible actions we take

Whilst we are too nieve to recognise ‘the error of our ways’

I often lament the passage of time and the ‘mistakes’ I have made

Convinced that had I been just a ‘tiny bit’ more aware

I might have done it better

Might find myself now in better circumstances

Might have less problems, less worries

But who is to say that had I taken any of the other paths

I now feel certain that I should have taken

My circumstances would be better, my worries less,

No, as a Christian I must assume

For richer or poorer

The path I chose was the right one for me

I must assume my circumstances

Could not be better, my worries not less

Accepting my past will enable me 

To face my present and choose my future                                     choices …

All the facts are not always at our disposal

We may have forgotten the reasons for our choices

The decisions we made

Of course, it is a ready-made exit from reality

Especially I suppose for those

Whose life has turned somewhat sour 

And can we of a truth say

We never made a mistake

Never took the wrong turning

Never said no when we should have said yes

or visa versa?                                                                                         choices …

Yes, we are free to choose

Choice is all around us

And only experience seems to teach us

Which choice is right?

Even then, we have no crystal ball

We cannot always know the answer

The mistakes I made, were my choices then

My choices now could be

My mistakes of the future

Whatever ~ they have and they will

Decide the pathway I have trod and will tread

The wonder is that choice is there

And that I can choose

That is wonder! 

..

                                                                                       writtenbyedenbray05.01.1990 

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          #author’s note ~ In keeping with my decision to publish all my written essays and poems as an archive for my children, I now include Non non regrette rien on this site.

I’m not sure I could, with hand-on-heart, quite match the doe-eyed sincerity, political optimism and full rounded belligerence of honest faith contained in this piece that I wrote twenty-eight years ago but that I now applaud unreservedly just twenty-eight years later.

It is clearly positive, right-wing and determined but carrying a soulful ladle of compassion and humility as a temper, a guide rope that battens down, attached to a temple of common sense and most uncommon wisdom.

                                                                                                     writtenbyedenbray21.06.2018

..

crossroads 

 

About edenbray

I am a writer ... a beat poet who began writing poetry way back in 1966 ... 'edenbray is born ugly, wet, covered in blood, mucous & bodily functions, the effluence of my short life' ... I recently published my 1st solo Anthology - the best of 60 years writing - previously I ran my own Art Supplies Store for 40 yrs before I became a full-time writer I am a Blogger who has posted 1,000 poems - available in 24 themed booklets ... please ask for details + leave a 'like' or a comment for my encouragement, thank you so much for listening - I truly value your opinion on my work ~ in fact I literally survive on your creative input ~ edenbray
This entry was posted in #LETTERS OF FAITH, edenbray essays, edenbray memoirs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.