REJECTION


Rejection

..

The snow of 1963

The snow of 1963

..

That bad winter when the snow was piled high was the first shot

It ricocheted on ice leaving a double echo hanging in the frozen air

as it slid, an arctic sidewinder, the full length of a tortured sled-track

Not sure if Ettiene had said to me, Is there something more I can do?

That I would have learned to cry then, those tears that melt the snow

..

Something looms over the banks, over the deep crusted hardpack

It’s a silence you can hear, the shadow of a huge bird passing

When you know you are alone, even with people in your home

We never learn to be lonely we bring it when we pass the gorge

From eternity’s darkest night into history’s brightest dawn

..

Icy glaciers run cold today with the missing tears of that golden age

When ignorance raped nature’s store and turned her to a common whore

but when the second shot rang out and the curtain fell in Dallas

Jackie held her husband’s brains in tender hands and we all cried

For the baby-boomers like me and Jen, something genuine that day died

..

280px-JFK_limousine

Dallas – November 1963

..

And then upon the snowy scapes, we learn to love again

Plunge our hands into the icy flow and watch the mountain grow

within an atmosphere of coldest breath, without the hostility of death

Pluck the sweetest flowers born, shout the loudest words we’ve ever sworn

Curse the mighty behemoth from his slumber with eyes of red and darkest thunder

..

Then a third shot sounded, it took me down, limp and broken to the ground

Ice drained deep beneath my skin, the cruelest capers speak the ugliest sin

To turn away a heart as trusting on a night as cold and rank was disgusting

The snow leopard pads the highest parts, a  she-mother learns to bare her heart

to make her family sure and safe when life’s harsh moments scrape their face

..

A berry picked, shared or given, to the cub with no will for living

Rain falling in the desert, coats for street children, kind words to a victim

Abuse of child-love cannot be measured, love that always should be treasured

When the skip returns to a broken step its’s always love that lays that path

Not else can light that darkest shaft into the misery of a soul’s rejected past

..

unfinished .. . writtenbyedenbray25/26/03/2018

..

https://youtu.be/GWmy9H35anw

.. . love that always should be treasured’

..

glacier2

‘Icy glaciers run cold today with the missing tears of that golden age’

..

bird

‘It’s a silence you can hear, the shadow of a huge bird passing’

..

jen

‘For the baby-boomers like me and Jen, something genuine that day died’

..

flowers in snow

‘Pluck the sweetest flowers born, shout the loudest words we’ve ever sworn’

..

snow leapard

‘The snow leopard pads the highest parts, a  she-mother learns to bare her heart’

..

paw

‘A berry picked, shared or given, to the cub with no will for living’

GLOSSARY:- Ettiene – Steve

About edenbray

I am a writer ... a beat poet who began writing poetry way back in 1966 ... 'edenbray is born ugly, wet, covered in blood, mucous & bodily functions, the effluence of my short life' ... I recently published my 1st solo Anthology - the best of 60 years writing - previously I ran my own Art Supplies Store for 40 yrs before I became a full-time writer I am a Blogger who has posted 1,000 poems - available in 24 themed booklets ... please ask for details + leave a 'like' or a comment for my encouragement, thank you so much for listening - I truly value your opinion on my work ~ in fact I literally survive on your creative input ~ edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray memoirs, edenbray pomes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to REJECTION

  1. edenbray says:

    I’ll be honest – I don’t usually like to comment on a piece I write and as most work we write is semi-autobiographic anyway, it seems a nonsense to make a big deal out of the meanings included etcetera, etcetera but this piece was, actually, really hard to write – I wanted it to be my ‘Blood On The Tracks’, even though said artist denies any common link with his lyrics. If you can leave pain behind you, in what you write I hope I left it here.. . Yes Mrs Follestein, my imaginary critic – Ugghh!
    Thanks for reading – edenbray

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.