OKAPI THOUGHTS


Okapi Thoughts

.

okapi

.

In the beginning when I first believed

I thought I saw a bandicoot give birth

Understood the truth of Job’s complaint 

Learned how to write the truth in stone

< – >

It was all strange to me, an Arabian dream

Hunting for a Jewish outfitters in London WI 

Measured for a mohair suit with tailor’s chalk

That dressed the bust on the tailor’s dummy

< – >

If we can separate the difference in time

Between a broken watch face & infinities line

Send crazy faces to a lover from a photo booth

Skip repeatedly to the part where we must choose

< – >

All of these fractions, moments lost to the frame

Both irony & madness prove no ones to blame

Half-cocked at the station, train leaves the platform   

The smile is still nervous, her cheeks all aglow

< – >

Increasingly it’s difficult, retracing first steps

The smile though ironic is none-the-less tense

Are you perched between success on an ash chair?

Waiting for moments where there is no care?

< – >

We all stand to pay homage at eternitys statue

Hoping to glimpse a minute of ‘no time at all’

Feeling the hours that glisten in a clear, night sky

As if we could unlock things & finally remember

< – >

As if we remembered where we put that missing key

Ran with the grey-wolf on his soft pads of snow

Listened to our mother’s voice who whispered from below

Grappled with the injured lion who knew which time to go

.

writtenbyedenbray06.06.2018

About edenbray

I am a writer ... a beat poet who began writing poetry way back in 1966 ... 'edenbray is born ugly, wet, covered in blood, mucous & bodily functions, the effluence of my short life' ... I recently published my 1st solo Anthology - the best of 60 years writing - previously I ran my own Art Supplies Store for 40 yrs before I became a full-time writer I am a Blogger who has posted 1,000 poems - available in 24 themed booklets ... please ask for details + leave a 'like' or a comment for my encouragement, thank you so much for listening - I truly value your opinion on my work ~ in fact I literally survive on your creative input ~ edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray essays, edenbray memoirs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.