Letters of faith #2


On: Losing my possessions

roll-of-money

Is faith believing for what I don’t have

or letting go of what I have already?

Sometimes we fret and are anxious

Sometimes dark clouds invade our minds

and we worry

What will happen if?

What shall we do if?

Should I not take this action or that?

In case of …

We struggle to hold on to what we have

We decorate it …

We embellish it …

We improve it …

We develop it …

We pander to it’s every whim

And then we think one day

Well, is it us, do we like it ?

Reality is cheaper …

You cannot truly appreciate what you have

Until you let go of it

Sometimes circumstances snatch from us what we love (or possess)

Then it is we recognise how important it is – they are! …

~ We are separated from a loved one

We lose a treasured possession

We break some valuable ornament

~ The washing machine goes wrong ! …

Then we miss it, need it, we mourn our own loss

Rarely others

Can I see what I have?

Do I understand that worth?

Possessions always blind us

We ought to never possess anything

Just loan  ~ Just borrow

This is freedom!                This is faith!!!

Stand upon it!

Feed yourself upon it’s air ~ it’s space

And fight for what is right

Be anxious over what is wrong

This is faith

Got any mountains that need moving

Chuck them in the sea

Let go of your possessions

and happy you will be …

            writtenbyedenbray05.01.1990

..

#author’s note ~ In keeping with my decision to publish all my written essays and poems as an archive for my children, I now include On: Losing my possessions on this site.

I’m not sure I could, with hand-on-heart match the doe-eyed simplicity and honest faith contained in this piece that I wrote twenty-eight years ago but that I now applaud unreservedly just twenty-eight years later.

It is clearly the counter to the previous essay, carrying a spiritual submission and a soulful ladle of compassion as a temper, a guide rope that battens down, attached to an almost Buddhist temple of surrender, common sense and most uncommon wisdom.

                                                                                                     writtenbyedenbray21.06.2018

..

losing

..

 

 

About edenbray

I am a writer ... a beat poet who began writing poetry way back in 1966 ... 'edenbray is born ugly, wet, covered in blood, mucous & bodily functions, the effluence of my short life' ... I recently published my 1st solo Anthology - the best of 60 years writing - previously I ran my own Art Supplies Store for 40 yrs before I became a full-time writer I am a Blogger who has posted 1,000 poems - available in 24 themed booklets ... please ask for details + leave a 'like' or a comment for my encouragement, thank you so much for listening - I truly value your opinion on my work ~ in fact I literally survive on your creative input ~ edenbray
This entry was posted in #LETTERS OF FAITH, edenbray essays, edenbray memoirs, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.