WAVES


  WAVES

WAVES

Countless, phosphorous, rushing

and over the smooth stones, they fall

Overlapping earth boundaries

wearing at the harsh edge of form

Gathering, shaping, smoothing

destinies, times mementos

Here they lift, there they fail

each one a measured throw

a dancing, cavorting, riderless bay

Clothed in silver foam

and garlands of spray

Magnificent for a brief, fleeting mo’

Then back and into the hapless,

shapeless eddy

Drawing circles, describing outline

shape and semblance

To what otherwise would be

only mauve history and uncertainty

What is today but a collection

of faded, picture postcards?

Mounted, framed and collected

for a future generation

Who may study the serious

tale they tell or maybe none the wiser

Only fools who rush and sweat

with no thought or remedy

no system of retrieval

But caught here in the time warp

of eternal messengers relay

The grey waters riders blossom

glisten and thunder

Not just mentioning the tale

but positively shouting

to the earth’s receding outline 

Here I am and have been 

Always ‘Ever and Sure’

Give me your attention

and let me speak to

your next shallow generation

O’ tireless, disarmed and eager

Your army marches on

Wave upon wave

upon endless wave.

..

writtenbyedenbray26.05.1990

..

#Authors Note ~ This a poem I wrote in 1990. It’s a kind of techno-poem written at a time when my eternal view and my worldview were merging pretty well I feel. I suppose it’s a kind of ‘hybrid’ – fusing modern nature with future hope and centered on that almost eternal quality that crashing waves on stones hold in their grasp.

I have decided to archive my past poems on this site so that my children and my grandchildren and friends might hopefully find them and read them, for you never know when ‘your wave’ is coming. ~ edenbray 21.04.2018

 

About edenbray

I am a writer ... a beat poet who began writing poetry way back in 1966 ... 'edenbray is born ugly, wet, covered in blood, mucous & bodily functions, the effluence of my short life' ... I recently published my 1st solo Anthology - the best of 60 years writing - previously I ran my own Art Supplies Store for 40 yrs before I became a full-time writer I am a Blogger who has posted 1,000 poems - available in 24 themed booklets ... please ask for details + leave a 'like' or a comment for my encouragement, thank you so much for listening - I truly value your opinion on my work ~ in fact I literally survive on your creative input ~ edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.