OF THE BEAUTY OF WORDS


O the beauty 

the beauty of words

¥  ¥  ¥  ¥  ¥

WAR

To end the dreary day

The sun brought fire

And smote the grey

Of the heavens away

In his desire

That the evening sky might glow as red

As showed the earth with blood and ire

The distant canon’s boom

in a land oppressed

Still spake the gloom

Of a country’s doom

Denying rest

‘War!’ – called the frightened rooks and flew

From the crimson East to the crimson West

Then, lest the dark might mar

The sky o’erhead

There shone a star

In the night afar

O’er each man’s bed

A symbol of undying peace

The peace encompassing the dead

¥ ¥ ¥

Guest Poem ~ written by RICHARD DENNYS

About edenbray

I've always enjoyed writing and thats all I want to do... .. . I’m not sure why I stopped writing was it 9/11? .. . Eden Bray is born ugly, wet and covered in blood, mucous and bodily functions. The effluence of my short life .. . I'm a Writer and Artist since 1966, now a Blogger ~ I write lots of poems, written essays, articles, reviews, opinion + comment .. . please join the shebang but more importantly please leave me a marker with a comment for my ego and my encouragement :- thanks, edenbray
This entry was posted in GUEST POEMS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

