THE NIGHT I DISCOVERED FOOTBALL or THE BATTLE OF STAMFORD BRIDGE


The Night I Discovered Football

(0r the Battle of Stamford Bridge)
ninian-flood-lights-60-438344870-1959019
Lawman, Bobbie and the ‘Best’
and the soft rain that fell that deep blue night
I fell out of the sky and the green-striped tiger
took my heart and pain for the 1st time
on wooden seats where real men gather to dream
I saw Bestie ‘hide’ the ball, he always played 
like a greedy boy up the park while Charlton coursed
the battle-fields of Flanders, Verdon, the Somme
and young Dennis so cheeky and sharp radiated charm
like a sidewinder with a venom sting who wore a ‘Colgate’ ring
That night I heard the sound of the leather ball
heavy with wet rain like oily sweat and bald shouts
the cloaked-crowd hushed, an army of rabid bees
that caught the odour of burnt wood
as deep as a scarred womans perfumed caress
Suddenly I was a man and my heroes sportsmen
who made a kind of sex on Saturdays at 3pm sharp
or on nights like these when floodlight-stars sparkle silver-white
mingle with the stench of burnt onion and bar-room doors open
the shouts of programme sellers, vendors, such honest traders
When we lose our order and our souls
for just the love of a game that can never end 
even when we remain true and bind our hands to the pole 
or promise a never-ending virtue women covet
writtenbyedenbray14.05.13
About edenbray

I've always enjoyed writing and thats all I want to do... .. . I’m not sure why I stopped writing was it 9/11? .. . Eden Bray is born ugly, wet and covered in blood, mucous and bodily functions. The effluence of my short life .. . I'm a Writer and Artist since 1966, now a Blogger ~ I write lots of poems, written essays, articles, reviews, opinion + comment .. . please join the shebang but more importantly please leave me a marker with a comment for my ego and my encouragement :- thanks, edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

