I SAT WITH EDDIE ….


DEBARTOLO

a golden man

Sitting with Eddie deBartolo ~ A Poem

I stood in the bleachers with Eddie last night

I sat on the sofa with my family and friends

We feasted and dined,  on V.S.O.P. we wined

For the 2nd time on this golden night I cried

I cried cos I’m crazy, my emotions were pinched

Could not hardly believe, my fingers were singed

The smoke and the ale and the smell of success

Drifted through my eyes, my brain, my conscience torn

These nights when fans are born and grey men smile

We work-worn members, working classes whose trial

Littered with small moments like babies, barroom fights

wedding nights, stolen sights, stars that still shine bright 

The separation of wills, the challenge is the sport

The fox, the hole, the slippery turf, the goal

And out there are no prisoners only soldiers true

Whose blood mixed warm may fall on winters snow

Or crease the night and scar the head or sap the strength,

`Of warriors true, of bastions of courage and legions who

Empty houses and quietly lift the hopes of dreaming men

Who now caught like struggling insects may break free 

This golden web, now an adornment for a maidens head

Whose ointment runs through all we say, all we do

In this modern age, what makes us faithful, loyal and true?

What blinds us from greed, unites us from pressure to work

I sat with Eddie in the bleachers last night, I carried the flag

I wrestled Leviathan, caught the claws of the falcon

Spat out the blood and feathers that spattered and littered the ground

and watched faithfully as the umber green field-turf

turned through red to brown to gold

sports pome written byedenbray 21.01.2013

borrowed from my 49er sports BLOG

http://49erfaithfulukdotcom.wordpress.com/

– check it out and tell me what you think

⾦ ⾦ ⾦ ⾦ ⾦ ⾦ 

⾦ chinese symbol for gold

tell me what you think – i feed on comments – give me your best shot in the comments box below – aaw come on man!

About edenbray

I've always enjoyed writing and thats all I want to do... .. . I’m not sure why I stopped writing was it 9/11? .. . Eden Bray is born ugly, wet and covered in blood, mucous and bodily functions. The effluence of my short life .. . I'm a Writer and Artist since 1966, now a Blogger ~ I write lots of poems, written essays, articles, reviews, opinion + comment .. . please join the shebang but more importantly please leave me a marker with a comment for my ego and my encouragement :- thanks, edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes, GUEST POEMS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

