THE WORKHORSE


The Workhorse

Hold hard the workhorse as I trial and sweat

Hold hard his image whose head held proud

I hear the sound of chain and leather

and the hoof which treads heavy

✴  ✴  ✴

The mauve and grey sky does bite

Left hard and nicely cruel

To cut winters sod and crumble

To the edge of steel forged white

✴  ✴  ✴

I am trained to this and others for to teach

As bound to brothers, sisters

We do tramp the earths border

To send the harrow deep

✴  ✴  ✴

The girth glistens in pale sun

Caught with the fury and the snort

Of steam and rough energy

The buckles and straps glisten and shine

✴  ✴  ✴

The rough ‘scrape’ and dust that settles on my brow

And dries the throat so coarsely

In clouds my blinkered eyes peer thru’

To see the hope of man’s invention

✴  ✴  ✴

Hold hard the workhorse whose step and sway

Measured by the ploughman’s eye 

Fettered by his guiding rope, bonded by his patient care

Is given reign to ply his honest trade

✴  ✴  ✴

 

written by♞edenbray circa.1992

dedicated to Jessica ~ who works herself into the ground

About edenbray

I've always enjoyed writing and thats all I want to do... .. . I’m not sure why I stopped writing was it 9/11? .. . Eden Bray is born ugly, wet and covered in blood, mucous and bodily functions. The effluence of my short life .. . I'm a Writer and Artist since 1966, now a Blogger ~ I write lots of poems, written essays, articles, reviews, opinion + comment .. . please join the shebang but more importantly please leave me a marker with a comment for my ego and my encouragement :- thanks, edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE WORKHORSE

  1. Jessica says:

    Sumptuous as always! I can feel the cold and the peace of working in harmony with the world. I adore your details; so exquisite!!!

Leave a Reply

