AND MARY KEPT THESE THINGS IN HER HEART …


&

I stumbled on my faith – I found it in an old box of clutter I’d been saving for the day when  I might need it. My son lost his old silver camera in the snow, we had been family snowballing in the recent cold-snap. We had a lot of fun building a snowman and my son he’s been under a lot of pressure recently, what with looking for work and the baby arriving so it was good for him to get out in the raw cold and throw some snow. 

Well he had looked all over, turned the garden into a mess and that favourite camera was nowhere. I sat watching out of the kitchen window while I chatted to little Zacary as his daddy and mommy who is my daughter, helped her brother look. They had been out looking on that cold Sunday morning for a good 30 minutes.

When the kids were small I taught them all to pray about all their little worries. I remember once we prayed for a lost correction plate that same son was wearing on his teeth that got lost with his toys. I think he was worried the dentist might be upset and tell him off. Anyway, we prayed and asked God to help us find that brace and when we finished my son got right up and walked straight to a toy box of lego where it was and pulled it right out, just like that.

Another time my other, youngest son, got his fingers trapped in the car door when it shut tight. He screamed with pain and I ran to where he was. I opened the car door so afraid of what I would find had happened to my son’s precious hand that I grabbed his injured fingers and covered them with my hands, I hugged him to me, I could not bear to look. I prayed to God and claimed a ‘healing’ that I had been taught recently in a Christian book. I prayed and prayed and claimed his healing in the name of Jesus. My son’s crying had stopped when I finished praying and all the family were stood around watching in the parking lot. I took the courage to look at my sons injured hand and there was not even a mark, not even a sign of redness. His fingers, his hand were as good as new! He only looked puzzled as his daddy began to praise the name of his God, Jesus!

So I sat there helpless watching my son, son-in-law and daughter hunting for the camera. They were down by the far end of the garden when I prayed ‘dear Jesus help my son find his camera’. Before my eyes in only seconds, my son broke from talking to his sister about it, he glanced down to the ground, reached down and pulled that old silver camera right out of the snow. 

‘Despise not the day of small things.’  ~  Children’s fingers are small.

About edenbray

I've always enjoyed writing and thats all I want to do... .. . I’m not sure why I stopped writing was it 9/11? .. . Eden Bray is born ugly, wet and covered in blood, mucous and bodily functions. The effluence of my short life .. . I'm a Writer and Artist since 1966, now a Blogger ~ I write lots of poems, written essays, articles, reviews, opinion + comment .. . please join the shebang but more importantly please leave me a marker with a comment for my ego and my encouragement :- thanks, edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray essays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to AND MARY KEPT THESE THINGS IN HER HEART …

  1. jessicaphiri says:

    I love it!!!!!!! It’s good to see the essence of life. 🙂 I have a similar story of when I was just a small girl and kept breaking my new eyeglasses. I dropped them outside in the dark and an outside light that had never actually worked, flashed on and revealed them in my eye sight. God is truly faithful even in the little things!!

Leave a Reply

