SO LONG BLUES…


So Long Blues

I bin searchin and a hungerin so long

Keepsa lookin for the end … of the trail

and all I sees is more grey, muddy water

more pale, scales, pictures o’ ma daughter

doin things, sayin things, she aint oughtta

My life! I bin kickin stones since I were six

walkin roads with this train tumblin after

Smoke train, cattle train, gridded an cold

while I’se bin searching for that cave full o’gold

an I nose its round here some place, baby!

My pappy he once hit me round the face

Says, now son listen, this is just to tell you

Aint no one knows you better than your self

When you is on your knees, that is the safest place

Now get up son and be a MAN sometime!

I bin travellin on my knees for a lo-ong time

I bin tryin to be good like my pappy

Eeen though that double ba-stard!

Tricked me an ma mom and left us

Holding no more than a pile a’ bills and a shack! 

Am listenin to this good ole’ night owl hollar

He over there in them black-green bushes

I like to see them flyin cos they do what I cain

Fly outta this damn place and keep flyin

Thass what I’do do anywaze … nice talkin’

written byedenbray 31.01.2012

Into tributes at moment – this is tribute to Linda Manz

~ just love voice over on ‘Days Of Heaven’

Linda: This farmer, he had a big spread, and a lot of money. Whoever was sitting in a chair when he’d come around, why they’d stand up and give it to him.
Linda: Wasn’t no harm in him. You’d give him a flower, he’d keep it forever.

About edenbray

I've always enjoyed writing and thats all I want to do... .. . I’m not sure why I stopped writing was it 9/11? .. . Eden Bray is born ugly, wet and covered in blood, mucous and bodily functions. The effluence of my short life .. . I'm a Writer and Artist since 1966, now a Blogger ~ I write lots of poems, written essays, articles, reviews, opinion + comment .. . please join the shebang but more importantly please leave me a marker with a comment for my ego and my encouragement :- thanks, edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SO LONG BLUES…

  1. jessicaphiri says:

    It’s simple and profound, isn’t it? Destitution dims the spirit, until one day, there are not enough people around to move the mechanisms in the mind and then, well, a person loses their stronghold on sanity.

Leave a Reply

