FACING OUR HISTORY …


Facing our History 

I walked down to the sea today

and saw a ship on the horizon

I held my face to the cold, grey wind

and thought of happier days.

Of course the sea brazen, raw and honest

can be a powerful friend

Yet, I live below its surface

where the dark fish bite

Where lost treasure and squandered moments

lay like basking sharks hungry

I hear and see sad tales and lively stories

of old salts and damaged ladies

How relentless the waves

tossed green-grey and golden

However torrid, spangled, white capped

or laden with deep and murky mystery

This meeting of the ways where

so many pointed moments collide

Where the past is formed, shaped, washed

then purged by natures mother  

I can see the whole roll of  history

from here, spread out before me

The tumbling horses, mossed breakers,

sea washed milestones like sentinels

Timeframes; sticky posts, where the past

spills out like discoloured photographs

The sum of our hidden, saved and

universal, collective memories

I always touch the shoreline to

‘fold away’ now sunday tea is cleared

There are none others with me

upon this desolate beach

While so many thoughts and persons

do sunder and suffer in this memory abyss

 written 6 – 9 september 2011 byedenbray  

About edenbray

I've always enjoyed writing and thats all I want to do... .. . I’m not sure why I stopped writing was it 9/11? .. . Eden Bray is born ugly, wet and covered in blood, mucous and bodily functions. The effluence of my short life .. . I'm a Writer and Artist since 1966, now a Blogger ~ I write lots of poems, written essays, articles, reviews, opinion + comment .. . please join the shebang but more importantly please leave me a marker with a comment for my ego and my encouragement :- thanks, edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

