BLACK CHERRIES


BLACK CHERRIES

 By rain, by the colour of her hair, by the sweet, soft fragrance of her cheek

the curls fell and warmed my senses like fragrant oil warmed by a winter sun

she could never take a step by me, but by her own gentle manner and stealth

only times extravagant hands could mould feelings so hard and scarred

 

I met her on a Tuesa-day when a kite flew and hit the clouds in a bird’s egg sky

it were a bag of surprises that burst and spilled shapes, some honey and golden

it never dawned it was tangled wool in wild cherry branches, twisted and thorned

 none were prettier, long-legged nor honest than the raven haired, rose hipped Colene

 

 Not Betty Ball, not Mary Lane could catch a fire while my silken maid went a walkin’

   or smiled, or tidied her hair for she and a garland of forest flowers were much sweeter,

she could lean like a willow ash, laugh like a spring of morning rain, speak so soft,

bite like mosquitoes, leave hearts raw, sore or kiss like peaches dressed in rose petals

                                                                 

it were a story never told nor finished

 – POEM REVIEW – “I WANT TO READ THIS POEM”

I tried to write this poem, raw and straight from the heart just as a love poem should be. Countless people know that numbing, paralysing feeling of being ‘hurt’ in love.
That is what I have tried to capture. The raven haired beauty ‘ a gaelic darling who is blissfuly unaware of the damage she does until one day she feels that same raw, heart scrape of unrequited love. Its cold, simple, uncomplicated and painful. ~ Awh just shocking!

About edenbray

I've always enjoyed writing and thats all I want to do... .. . I’m not sure why I stopped writing was it 9/11? .. . Eden Bray is born ugly, wet and covered in blood, mucous and bodily functions. The effluence of my short life .. . I'm a Writer and Artist since 1966, now a Blogger ~ I write lots of poems, written essays, articles, reviews, opinion + comment .. . please join the shebang but more importantly please leave me a marker with a comment for my ego and my encouragement :- thanks, edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BLACK CHERRIES

  1. Pingback: … STUNNING REVIEW – THIS POME – I WANT TO READ … « KUDU-MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

