STATING THE OBVIOUS ~ Appendix


I am a scientist, marine biologist,

Discoverer of planets, stretching to new horizons,

Breaking the mould that grips me with octopus grasp.

One thing for certain, I am no poet,

No visionary, no rhymer of rhymes,

As I play with words, like a child with Lego,

Forming and fitting bits together,

Hard fact, grand supposition and mellow illusion.

These all twist and embrace, copulate like lusting insects,

I watch animated, involved, unafraid, unashamed,

As these angular forms, patterns, grow.

Divesting, releasing, exciting.

Imagination is my first primeval gift,

My right to use and enjoy.

Why play on the edge of experience and temptation?

When one may wallow, indulge in the centre of delights.

written 22.12.88by edenbray

About edenbray

I've always enjoyed writing and thats all I want to do... .. . I’m not sure why I stopped writing was it 9/11? .. . Eden Bray is born ugly, wet and covered in blood, mucous and bodily functions. The effluence of my short life .. . I'm a Writer and Artist since 1966, now a Blogger ~ I write lots of poems, written essays, articles, reviews, opinion + comment .. . please join the shebang but more importantly please leave me a marker with a comment for my ego and my encouragement :- thanks, edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to STATING THE OBVIOUS ~ Appendix

  1. edenbray says:

    The point I think I am trying to make here is the possibilities of imagination and at the same time the impossibilities. This is all about extremes and testing the boundaries to the limit. Indeed the title itself suggests a taut dichotomy of opinion. This poem is the conclusion of a three part piece which, whilst claiming to, certainly does not, state the obvious at all. It is full of illusion and exaggeration and is again a litany to the layman’s untrained view. The layman, who, while untrained in many things, most things in my case, may still imagine!

Leave a Reply

