LAYMAN’S LIMERICK (AN ECONOMIC PROPHECY)


Generous discounts flourish

The economy may boom

Extremists always prophecy doom

Depressives, cynics, skeptics see only gloom

Our safe-house is threatened

Our well-healed, well-oiled world is leaking

We cry out for the vision ‘future-prophets’ have seen

Long before a popular colour was green

We draw in our horns and tighten the belt

Aware now of feelings our parents have felt

as gunfire and siren did sound

with dark street nights and aerial fights

far above the bated ground

We mended our socks

and longed for luxuries  like stockings and tights

We collected our string in a tin with a lid

Went ‘on the town’ for a night on a ‘quid’

We danced when we could, it was great to look good

in a suit with a shirt and a tie

Or a dress that brought a tear to your father’s eye

Now, there’s no rattle on our mountain bike chain

No ‘hum’ on the telly, “the tubes gone again”

Were the ‘New Age’, were conserving to save our day

Where we stifle the cries and the rage by inventing religions

that might pay some sorta wage

‘At the end of the day’ we all seem to say

‘this is the thing that matters’

So we are wise and we are learnéd

cos’ we’ve all had our fingers burnéd

and we keep our flags quite furléd.

Caution then is best when dressed in only a stringed vest

and the weather it is cold and it is snowy

There’s a storm that is brewing in spite of our ‘doing’

and the wind it is whistling and blowing

If we all just dropped to our knees and all said ‘Lord, please’

we might know which way we are going.

eden bray written 20.10.92





About edenbray

I've always enjoyed writing and thats all I want to do... .. . I’m not sure why I stopped writing was it 9/11? .. . Eden Bray is born ugly, wet and covered in blood, mucous and bodily functions. The effluence of my short life .. . I'm a Writer and Artist since 1966, now a Blogger ~ I write lots of poems, written essays, articles, reviews, opinion + comment .. . please join the shebang but more importantly please leave me a marker with a comment for my ego and my encouragement :- thanks, edenbray
This entry was posted in edenbray pomes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to LAYMAN’S LIMERICK (AN ECONOMIC PROPHECY)

  1. edenbray says:

    It’s hard to believe I wrote this nearly 20 years ago. I suppose thats why I’m posting it now cos’ I reckon I was pretty clever. Reckon?!

Leave a Reply

